There are two programs listed below: Regular Borrowers and County Deposit Patrons. Please read to see which applies to you.
Regular borrowers can borrow up to 20 items, with a 2 item limit on audio/visual materials. Each video constitutes one item.
The following types of individuals may register to become regular borrowers at the Sacramento County PublicLaw Library:
- Judges who have their chambers or offices in Sacramento County.
- Judges who have been temporarily assigned to Sacramento County also may register with the Library.
- Government officials and department heads who provide the Library with a signed borrowers application form. Government officials and department heads who are registered with the Library can execute an authorization form to allow their staff to borrow from the Library.
- Attorneys who are current members of the California State Bar (unless deceased, disbarred, or resigned) and who live in Sacramento County, have an office in Sacramento County, or are members of the Sacramento County Bar Association. Attorneys need to present their California State Bar cards and drivers license at the time of registration.
- Clerks, secretaries, paralegal, and other individuals who have been authorized by a judge or attorney registered to borrow from the Library. These individuals must complete a registration form and have it signed by their authorizing judge or attorney.
Sacramento County Deposit Patrons
Residents of Sacramento County who do not qualify as Regular Borrowers may borrow from the Library by leaving a deposit with the Library. There are two Deposit Patron programs:
- Single Item Deposit Patrons:
Under this program patrons may borrow one book by leaving a cash deposit with the Library. A $50.00 cash deposit is required for codes, case reporters, and self help books. A $100.00 cash deposit is required on all other books, audio tapes, and video tapes. No checks or credit cards are accepted for this program. The cash deposit is returned to the patrons when the books are returned to the Library. Patrons need to come to the Library at least one half-hour before closing in order to receive the on-demand refund of their cash deposit.
- Long Term Deposit Patrons:
Under this program the patron can borrow up to seven items at a time by leaving a $200.00 deposit with the Library. The deposit must be left with the Library for a minimum of three months. After that time, the deposit will be refunded to the patron upon written request after all outstanding fines or missing book charges are paid. Refunding the deposit terminates the patron's borrowing privileges.
- Out-of-County Attorneys
Attorneys whose home address and business address are outside of Sacramento County, and who do not belong to the Sacramento County Bar Association, can borrow up to seven items at a time from the Library by leaving a $200.00 deposit with the Library. The deposit must be left with the Library for a minimum of three months. The deposit will be refunded to the patron upon written request after all outstanding fines or missing book charges are paid. Refunding the deposit terminates the patron's borrowing privileges.